🎬 Milestone: One Year on Substack! (+ Gift)

Luimar Silva
4 min readMar 31, 2024

--

Hey friends!

I already have an article on why blogging is important for me, another on how I use Substack and one where I celebrated reaching the mark of 30 articles published. In this post, I simply want to celebrate 365 days of sharing and documenting my learnings and entrepreneurial experiences here, and I also want to say thank you for reading along over the year.

Writing here is part of my yearly goals, and although I have been often inconsistent with my publishing schedule, I am glad with the results of the past 12 months. I made various changes to the blog multiple times β€” both in terms of the structure and editorial line, and have been narrowing the type of content I write too. I guess I am finally finding my voice.

Stats Highlights

  • 3.712 Views
  • 44 Articles Published
  • 17 Newsletters Sent
  • 50 Newsletter Subscribers

Total Traffic

April was the first complete month. It was also when I launched my newsletter, a free, weekly email with actionable insights on the best business content and ideas I found that week. April remains the month with the greatest number of views thus far β€” 912. I published an average of four articles a month until October. Then life happened and I only returned this month.

Top 5 Sources

Most of my readers are coming through direct links, email and substack itself, with LinkedIn being the leading social network.

Readers Heatmap

My readers and subscribers are spread across 15 countries. I’m amazed to see Namibia leading. A home for me and where I have most of my friends and supporters!

Newsletter

To date, FastFavs has accumulated a total of 50 subscribers. My goal is to reach 500 by the end of the year!

Help me reach 500 subscribers by signing up to FastFavs.

Subscribe

Editorial

Over the past year, I wrote about entrepreneurial ecosystems, personal development and book reviews. It will be quite different going forward.

Many interesting things are happening in business across Africa right now. I want to share as many of them as possible through well-researched, hopefully not boring, case studies and articles to help uncover complex strategies using real stories. Therefore, I plan to write at least one case study and my FastFavs subscribers will continue receiving a newsletter from me every Saturday.

Case studies will be the core of the content I publish and my YouTube videos, with some supporting articles. My book club will be incorporated into the weekly newsletters.

Things to come

  • Less inconsistency and longer articles
  • A more informal and conversational tone
  • Greater interactions via LinkedIn and Substack Notes
  • Collaborations with brands and other writers
  • Info-Product launches

Anniversary Gift

Sometime last year I announced that I would be working on an online course, where I would answer some of the most common questions I hear from people planning to launch a business β€” knowing where to start.

After hours of research, writing, and editing alongside my wife, the course is finally available and you can start right away or share with someone you believe would benefit the most. Enjoy!

--

--

Luimar Silva

Exploring my passion for entrepreneurship ― and documenting everything I learn along the way. Original posts: www.bit.ly/luimar